lemon, lemon, lemon!

lemons

As I previously have stated before, I love lemon. for Easter, I experimented making a lemon bread. it turned out so good that I’m making more on Wednesday for a party at work.

if you do not like lemon or not that much, this bread is for you. I did add a little more lemon to mine but I love lemon. did I mention I love lemon?!?

ingredients

  1. 3 large eggs
  2. 1 cup sugar
  3. 2 tablespoons butter
  4. 1 tsp vanilla
  5. 1/3 cup lemon juice… or more 😉 you can use fresh or from a bottle
  6. 1 1/2 cup flour
  7. 1/2 tsp baking soda
  8. 1/2 tsp baking powder
  9. 1/2 tsp salt
  10. 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  11. 1 cup powdered sugar (glaze)
  12. 2 tablespoons whipping cream or half/half (glaze)

lemon on fence

directions

  1. put the oven at 350 and grab your apron and cooking supplies!
  2. you can either make one large bread or minis or cupcakes. whatever you want, just make sure you spray the bottom of your pan
  3. mix together the eggs, sugar, butter, vanilla, and lemon juice until well mixed. I used a mixer, you can do by hand if you prefer just make sure the butter is soft.
  4. add the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt. make sure everything is mixed perfectly. can you smell that lemon?!?!?
  5. mix in the vegetable oil until everything is combined
  6. put into the pan of your choice and cook for about 30 minutes
  7. I’m not going to lecture you about how to check if a loaf is done. we all know if the knife, toothpick, fork comes out clean it is done.
  8. cool on a wire rack or in the pan if you have a while to wait.
  9. make the glaze with the powdered sugar, half/half or whipping cream and a little more lemon juice. I used whipping cream because that is what I had. I have also used half/half before and it tastes just as good.
  10. now you can either take a fork and poke into the cake and then put glaze on or you can drizzle the glaze on. I just poking because it soaked into it and was so yummy!

enjoy!

if you want, you can also zest a lemon and put some of it on top of it. this would be awesome paired with some strawberries and whipped cream. hmmm mmm mmm.

DSCN0010

2 thoughts on “lemon, lemon, lemon!

Leave a Reply

